Getting to know Briya Cohen

Getting to know Briya Cohen

As part of Division III Week, we are giving our fans the opportunity to learn more about our student-athletes. Let's get to know Briya Cohen...


Sport: Women's Swimming

Year: Sophomore

Major: Exercise Science

Hometown: Voorhees, New Jersey

High School: Eastern Regional High School


When did you start playing your sport and how did you get involved with it?

I started swimming when I was six months old. I started off just taking private lessons but as I got older, I joined a summer team. After loving swimming for my summer team, I joined a team that swam all year round and have been swimming competitively ever since!

What is your greatest athletic accomplishment?

My greatest athletic accomplishment of my swimming career was this year at the Capital Athletic Conference championships. I got the privilege of swimming in two relays for our team and getting to the final in two out of three of my events and swimming best times in all of the events I competed in. It was so rewarding to see all of my hard work pay off!

What is your favorite memory of playing at Salisbury University?

My favorite memory of swimming at Salisbury was my freshman year at our maroon and gold meet, where I swam the 200 butterfly. It was an event I was very nervous to swim, but so many of my teammates were behind my lane screaming my name and cheering me on and I just felt so much support from everyone.

Who is your biggest hero, athletically or otherwise, and why?

My biggest heroes are my parents, who have driven hours each weekend for years to watch me swim and compete and have always been there for me through every obstacle I have encountered, both in and out of the water.

What is your favorite part of being a student (not just a student-athlete) at Salisbury University?

My favorite part of being a student at Salisbury is all of the friends that Salisbury has brought me and the huge support system it has given me.

What do you like to do when you're not at practice, at a game or in class?

When I am not at practice, a meet, or in class, I love hanging out with my friends and watching Netflix.    

What are your plans after graduation?

After graduation, I hope to attend graduate school, pursuing pediatric occupational therapy. I also hope to keep swimming a huge part of my life by hopefully being an assistant coach.


Rapid Fire

Favorite food: Pasta

Favorite movie/book: How To Lose a Guy in 10 Days

Dogs or cats: Dogs

Go-to song before a big game/event: Champion by Carrie Underwood

Favorite TV show (all time): One Tree Hill

Favorite music genre: Country

Favorite sports team (not Salisbury University): Philadelphia Phillies



View: Mobile | Desktop