Sea Gulls pick up two individual wins, attack NCAA provisional marks, at SWAT Last Chance Meet

Sea Gulls pick up two individual wins, attack NCAA provisional marks, at SWAT Last Chance Meet

SWARTHMORE, Pa. – The Salisbury University men's and women's track & field teams took their final shot at NCAA qualifying marks, competing in their regular season finale at the SWAT Last Chance Meet hosted by Swarthmore College on Saturday evening.

Two Sea Gulls narrowly missed out on NCAA provisional qualifying marks, while one program record fell in the meet.

Senior Chris Barnard and junior Becca Stinner have each been strong competitors in every 3,000-meter steeplechase they have entered this season and Saturday was no different. Each competitor put up personal records, with Barnard picking up a school record. His time of 9:28.03 edged the previous school record by less than a second, coming up just four seconds shy of the NCAA provisional qualifying mark; he placed fifth. Stinner shaved 15 seconds off the best time she has ever posted in the race, placing sixth and missing a provisional mark by just two seconds with a time of 11:15.99.

Salisbury also picked up a pair of wins at the event, with sophomore Chelsea Tavik winning the shot put with a distance of 43' 5.75" and sophomore Matt McMurdo earning a victory in less-than-ideal throwing conditions in the javelin, covering a distance of 184' 6".

Four other personal records were set by the Gulls on the day. Junior Jay Drenner had a top distance of 144' 9" in the discus, placing fifth, senior Matt Miller finished the 800-meter run in 1:56.81 while juniors John Fitzgerald (15:02.35) and Steve Berstler (15:47.09) set personal marks in the 5,000-meter run.

The Sea Gulls will now wait a week to learn the fate of two of their teammates. Tavik and McMurdo have posted provisional qualifying marks this season in the shot put and the javelin, respectively; next Sunday, May 22, they will learn if they will be invited to compete at the NCAA Division III Outdoor Track & Field Championships, hosted by Ohio Wesleyan University, May 26-28.

View: Mobile | Desktop