Six Gulls earn All-CAC honors; DiBartolo named CAC Coach of the Year

Six Gulls earn All-CAC honors; DiBartolo named CAC Coach of the Year

YORK, Pa. – The Salisbury University men's soccer team had six players named to the All-Capital Athletic Conference teams, the league announced on Wednesday, while Head Coach Gerry DiBartolo was named the CAC Coach of the Year.

Senior Larry Cornish, juniors Tanner East, Stephen Poorman and Logan Becker and sophomore Drew Staedeli all earned first-team honors, while junior Kyle Westbrook was awarded All-CAC second-team accolades.

Cornish finds himself on the all-conference team for the third time in his collegiate career, placing on the 2012 second team and grabbing first team in 2011. The Salisbury, Md., native has been a highly-utilized midfielder this season, starting in 13 contests, playing in 16. The senior has recorded two goals and one assist for five points in his time on the pitch this year.

East and Poorman have been sole contributors to the offensive success for the Gulls, leading the team in goals with eight and six, respectively. Poorman has started every game this season, recording 12 points for Salisbury. East has played in 19 matches, started in 14, while earning CAC Offensive Player of the Week on October 14.

Becker and Westbrook have led a strong defense, starting in all 20 contests, guiding the Sea Gulls to 14 shutouts for the season. The Salisbury defense is ranked third in the nation in shutout percentage (.70), while ranking fifth in team goals-against average (0.39). Westbrook also earned various other accolades through the season, earning CAC Defensive Player of the Week on October 7, followed by ECAC Co-Defensive Player of the Week on October 8.

Staedeli has put together a solid season in the net for the Sea Gulls, starting in all 20 matches, recording an overall record of 17-3. Through 1,689 minutes of play, the sophomore has only allowed eight goals, sporting a 0.43 goals-against average, ranking him sixth in the nation. The Ellicott City, Md., native has accumulated 10 complete shutouts with four partials, turning away 53 shots for the season. Heading into the national tournament, Staedeli sits in sole possession of second place in program history for most wins in an individual season.

DiBartolo was honored as Coach of the Year for the sixth time since the 1994 season. The veteran coach is in his 32nd season at the helm of the program, guiding the Sea Gulls to a 17-3 overall record and regular-season champions in the conference with an undefeated 8-0 tally.

The men now look to the NCAA tournament, as Salisbury hosts the first and second rounds at SU Soccer Complex. The Sea Gulls will take on Greensboro College in the first round on Saturday, November 16. The match is set to begin at 11 a.m.

View: Mobile | Desktop