DiBartolo named NSCAA South Region Coach of the Year

DiBartolo named NSCAA South Region Coach of the Year

KANSAS CITY, Kan. - Salisbury University men's soccer coach Gerry DiBartolo was named the 2007 National Soccer Coaches Association of America NCAA Division III South Region Coach of the Year this week.

This is the sixth time DiBartolo has won the award in his 26 seasons at the helm at SU. The other years he garnered this honor was in 1992, '99, 2002, '03 and '04. DiBartolo guided the Sea Gulls to a 16-4-2 record and a Capital Athletic Conference championship en route to the NCAA Division III tournament. SU was selected as a first and second round host for the NCAA tournament. The Sea Gulls tied a NCAA record with their 10-0 victory over Old Westbury in the first round before the maroon and gold fell to Virginia Wesleyan in penalty kicks in the second round.

DiBartolo became the 21st coach in Division III history to reach the 300-win mark earlier this season on October 20. He now sports a career record of 305-149-36 (66 percent winning percentage) averaging over 11.7 wins per year.

The 2007 NSCAA Division III National Coach of the Year will be announced at the NSCAA Convention's award banquet in Baltimore, Md., on January 18, 2008.

2007 NSCAA Division III Regional Coaches of the Year
Central Region: Paul McGinlay - Trinity
Great Lakes Region: Dwight Burgess - Capital
Metro Region: Cristian da Silva - New Jersey City
Middle Atlantic Region: Dan Wagner - Franklin & Marshall
New England: Dave Saward - Middlebury
Northeast Region: Chris Apple - Rochester
South Region: Gerry DiBartolo - Salisbury
West Region: Dan Rothert - Loras

View: Mobile | Desktop