Tucker named Tewaaraton Award finalist

Tucker named Tewaaraton Award finalist

NEW YORK – The Tewaaraton Foundation released its 2018 list of finalists for the Tewaaraton Award on Thursday evening and Salisbury University senior defenseman Kyle Tucker found himself among the players in contention. Tucker joins a select group of lacrosse players stretching across all divisions of men's lacrosse on the list of finalists.

Through the first four games of the 2018 season Tucker has helped the Sea Gulls to the No. 3 ranking in the country and a 3-1 start. He has picked up a team-high 21 groundballs while also tallying a team-best 11 caused turnovers thus far for the maroon and gold.

Tucker completed an impressive junior year campaign starting 22 of 23 games in which he caused 30 turnovers and scooped up 67 groundballs, which ranked him third on the team. He also helped anchor a defense that allowed just a 6.68 goals-allowed average last season. Tucker is looked at as one of the primary leaders both defensively and overall for the defending national champions in 2018.

For his career Tucker has played in 73 games with 50 starts, caused 102 turnovers, scooped up 172 groundballs, and has netted one goal and tallied an assist.  

This is Tucker's third finalist list he has been named to this season. He was recognized by both the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association and US Lacrosse Magazine being named to each organizations respective Player of the Year lists.  

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation. 

Players who are not named to the initial lists will have several opportunities to earn a spot as the season progresses. Any additions to the watchlist, if applicable, will be announced on March 22 and April 5. On April 26, the field will be narrowed to 25 men's and 25 women's nominees.

To view the entire Tewaaraton Award finalist list, click here.

View: Mobile | Desktop