Berkman named Coach of the Year, Howdy Myers Man of the Year

Berkman named Coach of the Year, Howdy Myers Man of the Year

BALTIMORE - Friday afternoon at the Intercollegiate Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association Convention, Salisbury University Men's Lacrosse Head Coach Jim Berkman received two honors as the awards continue to come in for the national championship season of 2012. Berkman was named the NCAA Division III Coach of the Year and earned the Howdy Myers Man of the Year Award.

This marks the third time in Berkman's career that he has collected national Coach of the Year honors, having also been named the nation's top coach in 1991 and 2008. This is his first time receiving the Myers Man of the Year award, which is presented in honor of Howdy Myers, who won 17 championships as a head coach with three different schools and was elected to the Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1971. The annual recipient of the award has contributed to the game of lacrosse in a capacity over and above the normal efforts and in so doing, has shown unselfish and untiring devotion to the game.

Along with the incredible success Salisbury had on the field in 2012, Berkman received the Myers award for his shining a light on personal fitness and living a healthy lifestyle, following a health scare early this season.

During the 2012 season Berkman became the first coach in NCAA men's lacrosse history, across any division, to reach 400 career victories. He led the team to a perfect 23-0 record and collected the program's 10th national championship. It was the seventh perfect season in program history, along with 1994, '95, 2004, '05, '07 and '08.

Salisbury will look to defend its national championship in 2013, beginning the season on Feb. 10, hosting Greensboro College.

View: Mobile | Desktop