Football announces 2014 team leaders

Football announces 2014 team leaders

SALISBURY, Md. – Salisbury University Head Football Coach Sherman Wood announced the team leaders for the 2014 season as seniors Drew Allebach and Jesse Langford III, and juniors Josh Danko and Ben LaNeve will take the lead this year.

Allebach and Danko will represent the defense, as Allebach is a defensive back and Danko is a defensive lineman. Allebach has appeared in 22 games for the Sea Gulls, playing in 11 in 2011 and nine last season. He has recorded 33 total tackles, 17 solo, in his career, while forcing and recovering one fumble. Danko played in all 12 games in 2012 before missing the 2013 season due to injury. He had 42 tackles in 2012, with 25 being solo stops. He also had 4.5 tackles for loss and two sack assists.

Langford III and LaNeve are both offensive linemen and played key roles in Salisbury's offense in 2013. The pair, who each played in nine games last season, paved the way for a number of ball carriers to gain 283.5 rushing yards per game, which ranked 10th in the nation. The Sea Gull offensive line surrendered less than two sacks per game, which ranked third in the Empire 8 Athletic Conference last season.

The Sea Gulls open the 2014 season on September 6 at Christopher Newport University, and will play the first home game of the year at Sea Gull Stadium on September 13 against Wesley College, beginning at 6 p.m.

View: Mobile | Desktop