Sea Gull football lands 14 on Spring 2014 Empire 8 Presidents' List

Sea Gull football lands 14 on Spring 2014 Empire 8 Presidents' List

ROCHESTER, N.Y. – The Salisbury University football team's players continued to work hard through the 2014 spring semester, both on the field in the non-traditional season, and in the classroom. The Empire 8 Athletic Conference announced its spring Presidents' List and the Salisbury football team had 14 players qualify.

To be eligible, a student-athlete participating in at least one of the league's sports must achieve a 3.75 grade-point average, or better, for the semester.

The Sea Gulls saw seniors Nick Aloi, Matt Banta; juniors Adam Brown, Alex Cranford, Kenny Ewers, Brandon Norwood, David Salmon, Patrick Teixeira; sophomores Nick Batastini, Kyle Bosserman, Rhett Malone; and freshmen Riley Cannon, Shane Marvel and Zak Osborne all achieve the honor.

Of those, Aloi, Banta, Bosserman, Brown, Cranford, Ewers, Norwood, Osborne, and Salmon all achieved perfect 4.0 GPAs.

Salisbury has been an associate member of the Empire 8 Conference, for football, since 2011, and has won the league championship twice with a three-year conference record of 18-3. The Sea Gulls finished tied for second in the Empire 8 in 2013.

The 2014 season begins for football on Saturday, Sept. 6 at Christopher Newport University. The Empire 8 slate opens on Sept. 27 at Buffalo State.

View: Mobile | Desktop