Six set for induction into Athletics Hall of Fame in 2018

Six set for induction into Athletics Hall of Fame in 2018

SALISBURY, Md. – The Salisbury University Athletics Hall of Fame will add six new members in 2018 when the latest class is inducted on Homecoming Weekend. This year's class for the hall of fame will feature Sue Ackermann (women's lacrosse), Erin Budd (field hockey), Chase Caruso (men's lacrosse), Brad DeHaven (football), Dan Lader (men's soccer), and Justin Smith (men's lacrosse).

The Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony kicks off Homecoming Weekend, being held on Friday, October 12 beginning at 6 p.m., in the Assembly Hall of the Guerrieri Academic Commons.

Ackermann (class of 2008) is one of the most decorated players in program history, having earned two first-team All-American honors, while leading the Sea Gulls to 77 wins, three championship weekend appearances and two national championship games in four years. Ackermann is one of just two Sea Gulls to twice be named the Capital Athletic Conference's Player of the Year for women's lacrosse. She still stands as the program's all-time leader in career points and is second in goals and assists. Her 152 points during the 2008 season still stands as the third-highest single-season total in Division III history.

Budd (class of 2005) was named one of the top players in Division III field hockey through the NCAA's first 25 years sponsoring the sport, selected to the organization's 25th anniversary team. She was twice named to the All-CAC first team and was a first-team All-American in 2004. During that season she dished out 17 assists, which continues to be the highest number in a single season by a Sea Gull in program history. Her 44 career helpers are second in program history. During Budd's time in maroon and gold, she helped the program to three NCAA semifinals and won a pair of national championships.

Caruso (class of 2008) played just two years at Salisbury, but was twice named the top player at his position and in 2007 was named the National Player of the Year. Along with being the National Long-Stick Midfielder of the Year in both 2006 and 2007, he was also named the Capital Athletic Conference's Player of the Year twice – and still stands as the only defensive player in league history to be named the men's lacrosse Player of the Year twice in their career. In his two years, the Sea Gulls posted a 43-1 record winning the national championship in 2007.

DeHaven (class of 2005), a menace for opposing quarterbacks during his career, continues to stand as a program record holder 14 years after his graduation, with the most tackles for loss in a career in program history, while still third in quarterback sacks. His 22 tackles for loss during the 2003 season led all of Division III that year. A four-time all-conference selection, including twice being named the Atlantic Central Football Conference's Defensive Player of the Year, he was named an honorable mention All-American by the College Sports Information Directors of America following the 2003 season.

Lader (class of 2005) was a leader for the Sea Gulls through one of the program's most successful stretches. During his four seasons, Salisbury qualified for the NCAA tournament three times, and advanced to the quarterfinals in 2003 and the semifinals in 2004. Lader earned All-American honors in 2004 – one of just 12 in program history – and was named all-region three times. The midfielder remains in the program record books, still fifth in career assists, with 26, and 13th in career points, with 60.

Justin Smith (class of 2005) brought home a national championship in three of his four seasons in maroon and gold, winning titles in 2003, '04, and '05, with the Sea Gulls dropping just six games during the four-year run. Smith was twice an All-American and in 2005 was named the National Midfielder of the Year and National Player of the Year. The midfielder still stands at No. 15 in the program's record book with 73 career assists.

Nominations for the Hall of Fame and the Award of Excellence are accepted throughout the year for former student-athletes, coaches, and staff members. Visit for more information or to nominate.

View: Mobile | Desktop