Seven earn All-CAC honors

Seven earn All-CAC honors

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. – The Capital Athletic Conference released the 2017 first and second team cross country awards on Wednesday afternoon. Salisbury University had seven members of the cross country program earn recognition as some of the top runners in the conference after their outstanding performances at the CAC championships.

Seniors Alison Schwartz and Malcolm Milton and sophomore Branson Oduor led the Sea Gulls as the three runners to earn first-team honors. Schwartz led the women with an eighth-place finish at the championships crossing the finish line in a time of 23:32.4. It was the second consecutive season Schwartz has earned a top-10 finish at the championship placing 10th last season and in turn earning first team honors for the second straight year as well.

Oduor led the men's team earning the highest finish of both the men's and women's teams placing fourth overall at the championships. Oduor came home in a time of 25:14.4 to earn his first All-CAC honor. Milton was the only other male runner to record a top-10 finish, finishing eighth overall completing the 8k course in a time of 25:39.0. It is Milton's second All-CAC honor earning first-team recognition in 2015.

A flock of Sea Gulls on the women's side earned second-team honors with three of the four runners finding their way onto the All-CAC list for the first time in their career. Junior Carly Sniffen earned her first All-CAC honor being named to the second team after her 11th place finish at the championships. Abigail Potter earned All-CAC Second Team honors for the second season in a row with her 12th place finish. Freshman Lianna Foianini picked up her first All-CAC recognition being named to the second team with a 13th place finish. Ashley Mazer rounded out the list of all-conference honorees as she was named second team All-CAC. Mazer finished 16th at the 2016 CAC championships to earn the honor.

Salisbury will run next at the 2017 NCAA Division III Mideast Regional Championships on November 11. The race will be hosted by Dickinson College in Carlisle, Pa. at Big Spring High School and is scheduled to start at 11 a.m.

To view the men's release, click here.

To view the women's release, click here.

View: Mobile | Desktop