Women's cross country has nine named to CAC Silver Anniversary team

Women's cross country has nine named to CAC Silver Anniversary team

YORK, Pa. – The Capital Athletic Conference, celebrating its 25th anniversary in 2014, announced women's cross country as its sixth Silver Anniversary team on Thursday, and Salisbury University had nine former student-athletes named to the team.

Joining the CAC for the 1994-95 athletic season, the Sea Gulls have enjoyed a successful stint in the conference with eight conference titles, including seven in an eight-year span from 2004-2011. SU has had six women named CAC Runner of the Year, four named CAC Rookie of the Year, and 63 total athletes named to the All-CAC teams (41 first team and 22 second team).

Kerri Bowers spent three seasons with the Sea Gulls from 1996-98. In that span, Bowers was named to the all-conference first team every season and earned the CAC Runner of the Year two times (1997-98). In her freshman season, she was a part of the first SU conference championship team, while being honored as the league's Rookie of the Year.

Donning maroon and gold from 2002-05, Lauren Bragg picked up three All-CAC nominations. A member of two SU conference title teams in 2004 and 2005, Bragg was named first-team all-conference in 2003 and 2004, while earning second-team honors in her senior year.

Kelly Delp ran for Salisbury from 1993-96, spending three seasons in the CAC, while earning All-CAC first-team nods in each of those three seasons from 1994-96.

Also spending Salisbury's first years in the conference with the Sea Gulls, Lori Frei competed with SU from 1994-96. In that time, Frei earned two All-CAC first-team nods in her first two seasons, before being named to the second team in her final year.

Suzy McCulloch, who ran for SU from 1998-2000, joined Bowers as the second of three Sea Gulls to earn the conference's Runner of the Year twice; she garnered the award in 1999 and 2000. McCulloch also earned all-conference first-team honors in those two seasons.

Running for the Sea Gulls from 2004-07, Casey McInerny was a first-team All-CAC selection for three seasons in 2004, 2005, and 2007. She competed with three CAC championship teams during her time with Salisbury.

Becca Stinner, Salisbury's most recent runner named to the list, ran from 2008-11, winning four CAC championships with the team in the process. In her final three years with SU, Stinner was named to the All-CAC first team each season.

Running with Stinner for three seasons, Kristin Stromberg was a Sea Gull from 2007-10, while competing for three CAC title teams. Stromberg was named to the All-CAC second team for her freshman season, before earning first-team nods in her final three years with Salisbury.

Kelly Sullivan, racing from 2005-07, was Salisbury's third athlete to be named the conference's Runner of the Year twice, earning the award in 2005 and 2006. Sullivan was a three-time first-team All-CAC member, as well, gathering the honor each season as a Sea Gull.

To view the entire women's cross country Silver Anniversary team, click here.

About the CAC Silver Anniversary Teams

The CAC Silver Anniversary Teams will be announced early in the regular-season for each respective sport. Each Silver Anniversary Team honoree will receive a commemorative gift from the conference, and many will be recognized by their institution/alma mater at some time during the academic year.

The University of Mary Washington, a charter member of the CAC, led the conference with 153 current and former student-athletes on the Silver Anniversary Teams, including 40 in men's and women's tennis combined. Salisbury University, which joined the CAC in the 1994-95 athletic season, was second with 122 Silver Anniversary Team honorees. CAC charter members York College of Pa. (60) and St. Mary's College of Md. (35) were next in line for most Silver Anniversary Team honorees.

The CAC was organized as a six-team affiliation in 1989 and began championship competition with the winter sports during the 1990-91 season. Membership changes in the last decade ultimately created a 10-team conference that has become one of the strongest in NCAA Division III.

CAC teams have won 18 national team championships, and dozens of other teams have finished in among the top four in NCAA Division III competition.


View: Mobile | Desktop