Men's track and field has 13 named to Silver Anniversary team

Men's track and field has 13 named to Silver Anniversary team

YORK, Pa. – In honor of the 25th anniversary of the Capital Athletic Conference, the next Silver Anniversary team to be announced by the league is for men's track and field, and Salisbury University led the conference with 13 student-athletes named to the team on Tuesday.

The Sea Gulls began CAC play in the 1994-95 athletic season, and since that season, the Gulls have won 15 CAC championships, including 10 of the last 11. SU won seven straight from 2004-10 and has won the past three from 2012-14. The team has also won all three indoor track and field conference titles, since the league began indoor competition, from 2012-14.

Salisbury has had 243 athletes be named to All-CAC teams with 157 first-team and 86 second-team nominations for outdoor, while 52 have been named to all-conference teams for indoor with 27 on the first team and 25 on the second team. The Sea Gull men have also had 12 CAC Athletes of the Year, 11 CAC Rookies of the Year, and 16 CAC Coaches of the Year.

Cory Beebe competed in maroon and gold from 2009-2010 and earned six total All-CAC first-team selections. In 2009, Beebe earned first team in the 110-meter hurdles and the 400-meter run, before tallying first-team selections in the 110- and 400-meter hurdles, the 400-meter run, and the 4X400-meter relay in 2010. For his efforts in 2010, Beebe was honored as the conference's Athlete of the Year.

As one-of-three athletes on the Silver Anniversary team that was a part of a run of four-straight CAC titles from 2007-2010, Quentin Briscoe donned the maroon and gold for each of those seasons. In 2007, Briscoe was named the CAC Rookie of the Year, after earning first-team All-CAC honors in the 110-meter hurdles and triple jump that season. He totaled nine all-conference honors in his four seasons, with five first team and four second team.

The next two Silver Anniversary athletes for the Gulls are still active in senior Dylan Burkett and junior Luke Campbell. Burkett has been with Salisbury since the 2012 season and has earned seven All-CAC bids during the outdoor seasons, while earning three all-conference nods during the indoor seasons. He has won first-team All-CAC in the weight throw for the indoor seasons and shot put for the outdoor seasons for the past two years, while adding a first-team outdoor selection in the discus in 2014.

Campbell came to Salisbury in 2013 and immediately made an impact, winning CAC Rookie of the Year in 2013 for both the indoor and outdoor season. He followed that with taking both indoor and outdoor CAC Athlete of the Year awards in 2014. In the outdoor seasons, Campbell has earned six All-CAC nods in two seasons, including three first-team selections in 2014 in the 110- and 400-meter hurdles and the 4x400-meter relay. He added five more all-conference bids in two indoor seasons, with three first-team honors in 2014. In his first two seasons with the Gulls, Campbell has already won four individual national championships, including three in 2014 in the indoor 60-meter hurdles and the outdoor 110- and 400-meter hurdles.

Jay Drenner, donning the maroon and gold from 2009-2012, was named the 2011 CAC Athlete of the Year, capping a stretch of four-straight Athletes of the Year for Salisbury from 2008-2011. Drenner earned seven All-CAC selections in his final three years with the Gulls, including three first-team nods in 2012 in the discus, shot put, and hammer throw.

Brandon Fugett was the second SU athlete that competed from 2007-2010, while the Gulls won four-straight CAC titles. Fugett was honored as the 2009 CAC Athlete of the Year and tallied 10 all-conference selections during his four seasons. He won first or second team All-CAC in the shot put, discus, and hammer throw in each of his final three years with the team.

Competing in maroon and gold from 2002-2005, Tristan Gilbert won seven All-CAC honors in four seasons, including first-team selections in the 800-meter run in 2002, 2004, and 2005. In his final season with the program, Gilbert added a first-team nod in the 1,500-meter run for two first-team selections.

Tony Hill competed for the Sea Gulls for two seasons in 1998 and 1999, winning the conference's Athlete of the Year in his final year. Hill notched six All-CAC selections, including four in 1999, with three first-team nods in the 100-meter dash, the long jump, and the triple jump. He added a second-team honor in the 200-meter dash.

Justin Johnson donned maroon and gold from 2001-2004, winning a total of 14 all-conference awards over his four seasons. In 2001 and 2003, Johnson earned four All-CAC nods in each season. He was named first-team All-CAC in the 110- and 400-meter hurdles in each of his last three seasons, while being named to the first team in the 110-meter hurdles in his freshman season, as well.

Byron Pugh competed with the Gulls in their first two seasons as a member of the CAC from 1994-95, winning CAC Athlete of the Year in each season, making him the only Sea Gull to win the award in consecutive seasons. Pugh tallied first-team all-conference honors in the 100- and 200-meter dashes in each year, while also picking up a first-team selection in the 400-meter hurdles in 1995.

The third SU Silver Anniversary athlete to have competed in the 2007-10 span was Delannie Spriggs. Spriggs was named the 2008 CAC Athlete of the Year and totaled 10 All-CAC selections while with the program. He won first-team all-conference in the 100-meter dash in each season with the team, while adding three All-CAC selections in the 200-meter dash in his final three seasons, including a first-team nod in 2010.

Marcus Tines wore maroon and gold from 2004-2007 and was named the CAC Rookie of the Year in his first season with the team. He won first-team All-CAC in the 100- and 200-meter dash in each of his first three seasons, as he totaled nine all-conference selections at Salisbury.

Derrick Washington competed for SU in 2005 and 2006, winning CAC Athlete of the Year after the 2005 season. He totaled seven All-CAC selections in two seasons, while winning first-team honors in the triple jump, long jump, and high hurdles in his first season with the team. In 2006, he added first-team selections in the 110-meter hurdles and the triple jump.

To view the entire men's track and field Silver Anniversary team, click here.

About the CAC Silver Anniversary Teams

The CAC Silver Anniversary Teams will be announced early in the regular-season for each respective sport. Each Silver Anniversary Team honoree will receive a commemorative gift from the conference, and many will be recognized by their institution/alma mater at some time during the academic year.

The University of Mary Washington, a charter member of the CAC, led the conference with 153 current and former student-athletes on the Silver Anniversary Teams, including 40 in men's and women's tennis combined. Salisbury University, which joined the CAC in the 1994-95 athletic season, was second with 122 Silver Anniversary Team honorees. CAC charter members York College of Pa. (60) and St. Mary's College of Md. (35) were next in line for most Silver Anniversary Team honorees.

The CAC was organized as a six-team affiliation in 1989 and began championship competition with the winter sports during the 1990-91 season. Membership changes in the last decade ultimately created a 10-team conference that has become one of the strongest in NCAA Division III.

CAC teams have won 18 national team championships, and dozens of other teams have finished in among the top four in NCAA Division III competition.

View: Mobile | Desktop