Blondino, Tucker headline IMLCA regional awards for men's lacrosse

Blondino, Tucker headline IMLCA regional awards for men's lacrosse

AVON, Conn. – The Intercollegiate Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association released its regional awards for Division III and Salisbury University's program brought home most of the accolades, with two regional players of the year, eight all-region picks and the Mid-Atlantic Coaching Staff of the Year.

Senior attackman Nathan Blondino was named the Mid-Atlantic Region's Offensive Player of the Year while junior defender Kyle Tucker was the region's Defensive Player of the Year.

Blondino, who was also named the USILA National Player of the Year, the ECAC South Player of the Year, and the Capital Athletic Conference Player of the Year, led the Sea Gull offense with one of the best seasons in program history, scoring 134 points on 61 goals and 73 assists. The 134 points match the best point-scoring season in program history, matching Jason Coffman's effort in the 1995 season.

Tucker helped the Sea Gulls to one of the top defensive seasons in Division III this year, ranking seventh by surrendering just 6.70 goals per game. Tucker caused 30 turnovers and scooped up 67 ground balls this season.

Blondino and Tucker were joined on the first team in the region by Carson Kalama, Brendan Bromwell, Andrew Ternahan, and Will Nowesnick. Troy Miller and Aaron Leeds were named to the second team.

Kalama and Bromwell each helped lead Salisbury's potent offense this season, which finished fourth nationally, scoring more than 17 goals per game. Kalama led the team with 69 goals this year and ranked second with 88 points, while Bromwell scored 32 times from his midfield position and finished the year with 57 points.

Ternahan, Nowesnick, Miller and Leeds helped anchor the lock-down defense in 2017. Ternahan ranked second on the squad, picking up 85 ground balls, while causing 34 turnovers, Nowesnick was good for a team-high 44 caused turnovers and 65 ground balls, while Leeds caused 40 turnovers and gathered 63 ground balls. Miller, a short-stick defensive midfielder, picked up 19 ground balls and seven caused turnovers. The defensive group contributed to the Sea Gulls being the fourth-best clearing team in the nation this year, clearing at an .896 percent clip.

Head Coach Jim Berkman was joined by assistant coaches Justin Axel, Ben Sandlin, Knute Kraus, Jayme Block, Tom Cirillo, and Preston Dabbs and honored as the Coaching Staff of the Year, following the program's 12th national championship as the team ranked in the top five in nine different statistical categories.

The 12th national championship in program history came on May 28, with a 15-7 win against Rochester Institute of Technology in Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts. Kalama scored four goals and added an assist to be named the game's Most Outstanding Player.

To see the all-region selections in their entirety, click here.

To see the regional coaching staffs of the year, click here.

View: Mobile | Desktop