Sea Gulls have 13 named to CAC Silver Anniversary team

Sea Gulls have 13 named to CAC Silver Anniversary team

YORK, Pa. – With the spring athletics season just around the corner, the third Capital Athletic Conference Silver Anniversary team for spring sports to be announced is for men's lacrosse, and the Salisbury University program had 13 athletes named to the team.

Salisbury began competition in the CAC during the 1994-95 athletic season; during the spring of 1995, the men's lacrosse team won its first CAC championship, beginning a streak of 15-straight conference titles from 1995-2009. Overall, the Sea Gulls have won 18 CAC championships. SU holds an NCAA record 105-conference game winning streak that went from March 4, 1995-April 4, 2009.

Since joining the league, the Gulls have won 17 CAC Player of the Year awards, four CAC Rookie of the Year awards, nine CAC Coach of the Year awards, and have had 181 All-CAC team members.

Jake Bergey donned the maroon and gold from 1994-97, competing in conference play in his final three years with the team and earning All-CAC first-team honors in each of those seasons. Bergey was named the CAC Player of the Year in 1997, beginning a streak of 14-straight Player of the Year awards for the Gulls. He finished his career tied for seventh in program history with 237 points, while ranking sixth in goals (169) and assists (119).

Kylor Berkman wore maroon and gold from 2006-09 and is one-of-five SU players to be named the CAC Player of the Year twice, winning the honor in 2008 and 2009. Berkman was a three-time all-conference player, being named to the first team in his last three seasons with the team. He currently ranks second in program history in assists with 170; he sits fifth all-time with 298 points.

Competing as a Sea Gull from 2002-05, Jeff Bigas earned All-CAC bids each season, including first-team selections in his final three seasons. Bigas is the only player to be named the CAC Rookie of the Year (2002) and Player of the Year (2005) in his career. In 2005, he picked up 108 ground balls for the SU defense.

Sam Bradman and Matt Cannone were teammates from 2009-12 and both were named to the Silver Anniversary team, after moving into the No. 3 and No. 2 spots, respectively, for points in program history. Bradman was named the conference Player of the Year twice in 2010 and 2012, while earning All-CAC first-team selections in his final three years with the team. He finished his career with 304 points and sits third all-time with 201 goals and seventh with 103 assists.

Cannone began his career as the CAC Rookie of the Year in 2009, after scoring 53 goals and 67 points in his first season. He also earned first-team All-CAC in 2009, 2011, and 2012 and second team in 2010. Cannone now sits second all-time in points with 369 and goals with 216 and third in assists with 153.

Chase Caruso played for Salisbury in 2006 and 2007, winning the CAC Player of the Year in both seasons. He was also first-team all-conference for both seasons, as well. Caruso caused 73 turnovers in his two seasons, including 40 in 2007, while picking up 37 ground balls that year. He totaled 79 ground balls for SU.

Jason Coffman donned maroon and gold from 1993-96, playing in the CAC for the final two seasons of his career. He earned first-team All-CAC in both seasons, while also being named the conference's Player of the Year in both years, as the first Sea Gull to win the award twice. Coffman is Salisbury's all-time leader in points (451), goals (249), and assists (202).

Dave DiPaola played for the Gulls from 1999-2001, being named the CAC Player of the Year in 2001. He was named to the All-CAC first team in 1999 and 2001. DiPaola added a second-team selection in 2000. In 2001, DiPaola caused 73 turnovers and picked up 48 ground balls, while also netting six points. For his career, he totaled 149 caused turnovers and picked up 172 ground balls.

Wearing maroon and gold from 2001-04, Eric Martin was named the 2004 CAC Player of the Year. Martin was named to All-CAC teams in each of his final three seasons, including first-team selections in 2003 and 2004. Martin picked up a career-high 113 ground balls in 2003, before tallying 94 in 2004. He totaled 259 for his career.

Martin's teammate from 2001-04, Andy Murray was named to the All-CAC first team in his final three seasons. He was also named the conference Player of the Year in 2002, after totaling 32 points on 16 goals and 16 assists and winning .811 percent of his faceoffs (214-of-264). Murray finished his career winning 792-of-1,141 faceoffs for a .694 winning percentage. He also scored 72 goals and 132 points.

Peter Troup played for SU from 1997-99, earning All-CAC first-team nods in each season. He finished his career with 183 points on 123 goals and 60 assists. He twice scored 40 or more goals, with 49 in 1999 and 41 in 1998.

Chris Turner donned maroon and gold from 1998-2000, earning CAC Player of the Year and first-team All-CAC in his final two seasons. He finished his career with 164 points, 97 goals and 67 assists. Turner scored 51 points in 1999 and 70 in 2000.

Sean White spent 2002-05 with the Sea Gulls, earning first-team All-CAC nods in his last three seasons with Salisbury. He picked up 70 ground balls in 2003 for a career high, while scooping up 227 in his career.

To view the entire men's lacrosse CAC Silver Anniversary team, click here.

About the CAC Silver Anniversary Teams

The CAC Silver Anniversary Teams will be announced early in the regular-season for each respective sport. Each Silver Anniversary Team honoree will receive a commemorative gift from the conference, and many will be recognized by their institution/alma mater at some time during the academic year.

The University of Mary Washington, a charter member of the CAC, led the conference with 153 current and former student-athletes on the Silver Anniversary Teams, including 40 in men's and women's tennis combined. Salisbury University, which joined the CAC in the 1994-95 athletic season, was second with 122 Silver Anniversary Team honorees. CAC charter members York College of Pa. (60) and St. Mary's College of Md. (35) were next in line for most Silver Anniversary Team honorees.

The CAC was organized as a six-team affiliation in 1989 and began championship competition with the winter sports during the 1990-91 season. Membership changes in the last decade ultimately created a 10-team conference that has become one of the strongest in NCAA Division III.

CAC teams have won 18 national team championships, and dozens of other teams have finished in among the top four in NCAA Division III competition.

View: Mobile | Desktop