Sea Gulls bring Charles B. Clark cup back to SU with 12-7 win

Sea Gulls bring Charles B. Clark cup back to SU with 12-7 win

SALISBURY, Md. – Led by a balanced offense and a 15-save effort by senior goalkeeper Alex Taylor, the Charles B. Clark cup returns to Salisbury University, as the No. 2-ranked men's lacrosse team downed No. 7 Washington (Md.) College, 12-7, on Wednesday afternoon at Sea Gull Stadium in the annual-rivalry matchup.

Senior midfielder Greg Korvin, one-of-three Sea Gulls with two goals in the contest, led the team with four points; junior attackman Mike Kane and sophomore midfielder Thomas Cirillo also found the cage twice.

The first quarter began with the teams feeling each other out, until senior attackman Luke Phipps struck at the 7:39 mark, taking a pass from senior midfielder Brandon Kendrick and ripping a shot from the right wing.

After the Shoremen tied the game, Korvin tallied both of his scores in a 2-0 run to end the first quarter; both shots came after driving down the right side, giving the Gulls a 3-1 lead.

Washington College opened the scoring in the second half, but Salisbury answered with two more goals.

Sophomore midfielder Brady Dashiell dodged right and drove to plant a low shot in the back of the cage with 9:57 left in the half, before senior attackman Zeke Smith led a fastbreak two minutes later and dished the ball to junior attackman Jesse Rabishaw for a goal from the left wing.

After the second Shoremen goal for the quarter, Cirillo and senior attackman Rhett DePol added the final two SU goals to give the Sea Gulls a 7-3 lead at halftime.

At halftime, the stat sheet was even, with the Shoremen slightly leading in shots, 22-21, and forced turnovers, 10-8, but Washington held a 10-of-12 faceoff advantage.

Washington added the first goal of the second half, but, from there, Salisbury ended the third quarter on a 4-0 spurt.

Kane netted his first to start the run at the 11:42 mark, taking a pass from Korvin and scoring on the crease.

The stretch included the first scores for midfielders, junior Sean Fitzgerald and senior Donovan Lange, and the second for Cirillo to give the Gulls an 11-4 lead after the third frame.

Kane added his second in the final quarter to cap the win for Salisbury, making this the 10th time in 11 games that the Sea Gulls have won the Charles B. Clark cup since its inception in 2004.

Taylor earned his eighth win of the season in the effort.

The Gulls travel to York College of Pennsylvania for their next game, taking on the No. 12 Spartans on Saturday; the game is set for 3 p.m.

View: Mobile | Desktop