Bradman named a Tewaaraton Award nominee; only Division III student-athlete on the list

Bradman named a Tewaaraton Award nominee; only Division III student-athlete on the list

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The Tewaaraton Award Foundation recently announced its 2010 Lacrosse nominees and Salisbury University sophomore midfielder Sam Bradman (Canton, N.Y.) was named one of 26 men's nominees. The Tewaaraton Award is presented each May to the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse players by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance.

The list of 51 student-athletes will be narrowed down at a later date to five finalists for both the men's and women's award. The Tewaaraton trophy will be presented on June 3 at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Bradman is one just six sophomore men's lacrosse players to be named a nominee for this prestigious award. The Canton, N.Y., native is the only Division III nominee on this Division I-dominant list.

The sophomore midfielder has had a breakout season as he has played in all 16 contests in 2010 with three starts. Bradman has recorded a team-high 68 points on 47 goals and 21 assists. The midfielder has scored two game-winning goals, scooped up 33 ground balls and caused 21 turnovers for the No. 1-ranked Sea Gulls.

For his play, Bradman has been honored two times by the Capital Athletic Conference this season as Men's Lacrosse Player of the Week. Additionally, Bradman has received the Nike/Inside Lacrosse Division III National Player of the Week award and the Eastern College Athletic Conference Division III Metro/South Region Co-Offensive Player of the Week award.

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is given annually to the NCAA men's and women's lacrosse players of the year. This will be the 10th annual awards ceremony and is the "Year of the Seneca". 

For additional information on the award or to purchase tickets please visit:

View: Mobile | Desktop